Board of Directors

Russell Azbill ~ President

Russell Azbill encourages you to join Arizona Authors’ and submit all your literary efforts to the annual Arizona Literary Contest! Russ has well-served the Association and its members for many years. Most recently as Treasurer, this award-winning, published amazing writer has been overwhelmingly welcomed as President by the Association.

Russ is an Arizona native. He began writing as a child, but did not pursue the endeavor seriously until well into adulthood. Notably, Russ has authored the 2011 police action thriller Darkest Hour. His work has won several literary awards over the past decade.

Ever the adventurous soul, in addition to his writing, Russ is an award-winning paranormal and UFO investigator. He has appeared as guest expert on numerous radio and television shows and has been honored for his work in investigating UFOs from the Mutual UFO Network (MUFON).

Nicholas Lagrand ~ Vice President

Debbie Weiland ~ Treasurer

   Welcome to the Association Board of Director page.  As Treasurer, Debbie oversees have general custody of all the funds and securities of the organization. She deposits Association funds and directs and supervises regular books of account, as well as renders financial statements to the President, Directors, and Members at proper times. Debbie has charge of the preparation and filing of such reports, financial statements, and returns as may be required by law. She is excited to enhance the Arizona Authors’ brand, while also giving our membership the best opportunities to publish and promote their work.

As a single mother, a jack of all trades describes Debbie’s professional life to a tee. From holistic healer to administrator; from public relations to web design; and from sales to party planning, she has worked a myriad of jobs to support her family. Currently the administrator of a small state agency, the Law Enforcement Merit System Council, Debbie also runs a small administrative services business ~ Debbie Girl Friday.

Ronald Tobin ~ Director and Past Secretary

ronald_tobin Ronald Tobin grew up in Southern California and relocated to Phoenix in 1995. Reading and writing have been his passions. He made his first efforts at writing novels in the late 1970s back in high school. He was the editor and publisher of a small press periodical called THE THOUGHT from 1981 to 2005. His first novel, A Ruby for Victor, was released in 2012.

Ron has been a dedicated Association officer and member for several years, frequently leading the team at Tucson Festival of Books.

Ron married his wife Ann in 2008. They have five children and three grandchildren.